Gettin’ Down On The Mountain

A good friend of mine introduced me to Canadian alt country singer Corb Lund recently and my life was changed forever.  Why has it taken this long for someone to sing about prepping?  And Corb does it with a brilliant flair for black humor and a clear dedication to practical skills.  I like it.

This has not been a good week for the status quo.  Perhaps now would be a good time to can all that produce you grew this summer, split and stack that firewood, and buy a bit of silver.  If you were thinking about running to that cabin in the hills, it might be too late.  If you’ve already left, good luck to you!  I wish I could join you.

cabin1

“Gettin’ Down On The Mountain” – Corb Lund, from “Cabin Fever” (2012, New West Records)

When the oil stops, everything stops, nothin’ left in the fountain
Nobody wants paper money, son, so you just as well stop countin’
Can you break the horse, can you light the fire?
What’s that, I beg your pardon?
You’d best start thinkin’ where your food comes from and I hope you tend a good garden

Gettin’ down on the mountain, gettin’ down on the mountain
Don’t wanna be around when the shit goes down
I’ll be gettin’ down on the mountain, goin’ to ground on the mountain

When the trucks don’t run, the bread won’t come, have a hard time findin’ petrol
Water ain’t runnin’ in the city no more, do you hold any precious metal?
Can you gut the fish, can you read the sky?
What’s that about overcrowdin’?
You ever seen a man who’s kids ain’t ate for seventeen days and countin’?

There ain’t no heat and the power’s gone out, it’s kerosene lamps and candles
The roads are blocked, it’s all gridlocked, you got a shortwave handle?
Can you track the deer, can you dig the well?
I couldn’t quite hear your answer
I think I see a rip in the social fabric, Brother can you pass the ammo?
I think I see a rip in the social fabric, Brother can you spare some ammo?

ammo

Brother can you spare some ammo?” indeed.

2 responses to “Gettin’ Down On The Mountain

Leave a Reply

