Rhyme Time People

Mark Twain and I share a birthday and a few other things. When he said “History does not repeat itself, but it does rhyme” he gave me a the title for this blog. No, I won’t be rapping, waxing poetic, or hosting a “slam” (but feel free to post your comments in the form of a rhyme anyways!) What I will be doing is applying my limited knowledge of human history to the best-researched, most plausible theories about the near future. I believe that where our society is headed in the next half-generation is somewhere it has been before. I also believe that getting there safely and happily is the biggest challenge any of us face. Tools exist to ease us through this transformation and I intend to provide as many of them as I can here in the time we have left.

Before you get the wrong impression that I’m some kind of morose doomer clutching his guns in a bunker, let me make one thing clear from the start. What is coming will not be all horror, drudgery, and pain. The little secret about being a “Collapsitarian” is the confidence that our post-Collapse world will have every potential to be the healthiest, happiest, most productive time of our lives. While the less-than-totally-cushy conditions may bring out the worst in some people, it will bring out the best in the rest of us.

4 responses to “Rhyme Time People

Leave a Reply

